Metamorphosis Bibliography


Ovid’s Metamorphoses is an epic poem in fifteen books that offers a panoramic vision of classical mythology from the creation of the world through the apotheosis of Julius Caesar. The hexameter epic was composed in the last years before the poet’s exile in 8 CE; the text that has survived is complete, though now and again it shows evidence of a lack of final revision. Ovid refers to his own work at Tristia 1.1.117–120, where he speaks of the fifteen books of his epic that have been saved from the metaphorical funeral pyre, books that reflect the poet’s own changing fortunes in the wake of his banishment to Tomis. Ovid’s magnum opus is deeply invested in intertextual relationships with the literary achievements of his predecessors, including the tradition of metamorphic myth that was popular in the Hellenistic Age. It is also very much a product of the political and social milieu of Augustan Rome, with attendant reflection and commentary on the nature of the Augustan principate and the place of the poet in the nascent new order. Ovid’s epic of transformation and wondrous metamorphosis has had a profound influence on later art and literature, inspiring works as diverse as the 14th-century Old French Ovide moralisé, the paintings of the Italian Renaissance master Titian, and the first opera of Mozart (Apollo et Hyacinthus, K. 38).

Latin Texts

The text of Ovid’s Metamorphoses is preserved in a tradition of relatively late date and abundant medieval manuscript witnesses. The dearth of ancient evidence and lack of survival of scholia for the epic have contributed to a sometimes challenging textual environment that is replete with doublets, possible interpolations, and occasional significant cruxes. Tarrant 2004 offers the best available text, though it does not completely supplant Anderson 1977. Goold 1977–1984 offers a valuable appraisal of the problems by a master Latinist.

  • Anderson, W. S. 1977. Ovidius Metamorphoses. Leipzig and Stuttgart: Teubner.

    E-mail Citation »

    A conservative edition based on the primary witnesses. Second edition 1981.

  • Goold, G. P., ed. 1977–1984. Ovid: Metamorphoses. 2 vols. Loeb Classical Library. Cambridge, MA: Harvard Univ. Press.

    E-mail Citation »

    Goold’s revision of the Loeb edition of the Metamorphoses offers a serviceable text (without apparatus) and translation, with some bibliographical and ancillary material.

  • Tarrant, R. J. 2004. P. Ovidi Nasonis Metamorphoses. Oxford Classical Texts. Oxford: Oxford Univ. Press.

    E-mail Citation »

    The standard critical edition of the poem, with a full report of the manuscript tradition.

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content on this page. Please subscribe or login.

How to Subscribe

Oxford Bibliographies Online is available by subscription and perpetual access to institutions. For more information or to contact an Oxford Sales Representative click here.

Wole Soyinka - Bibliography

A Dance of the Forests. – London : Oxford Univ. Press, 1963
The Lion and the Jewel. – London : Oxford Univ. Press, 1963
Three Plays. – Evanston, IL, 1962. – Content: The Trials of Brother Jero ; The Strong Breed ; The Swamp Dwellers
Five Plays. – London : Oxford Univ Press, 1964. – Content: A Dance of the Forests ; The Lion and the Jewel ; The Swamp Dwellers ; The Trials of Brother Jero ; The Strong Breed
The Road. – London : Oxford Univ. Press, 1965
Kongi's Harvest. – London : Oxford Univ. Press, 1967 (1966?)
Three Short Plays. – London : Oxford Univ. Press, 1969
Madmen and Specialists. – London : Methuen, 1971
The Jero Plays. – London : Eyre Methuen, cop. – 1973. – Content: The Trials of Brother Jero ; Jero's Metamorphosis
Camwood on the Leaves. – London : Eyre Methuen, 1973
Collected Plays. – London : Oxford Univ. Press, 1973-1974. – 2 vol.
Death and the King's Horseman. – London : Eyre Methuen, 1975
Opera Wonyosi. – Bloomington : Indiana Univ. Press, 1981
A Play of Giants. – London : Methuen, 1984
Requiem for a Futurologist. – London : Rex Colling, 1985
From Zia, With Love ; and, A Scourge of Hyacints. – London : Methuen drama, 1992
King Baabu : a Play in the Manner - Roughly - of Alfred Jarry. – London : Methuen, 2002
Idanre & Other Poems. – London : Methuen, 1967
Poems From Prison. – London : Rex Collings, 1969
A Shuttle in the Crypt. – London : Rex Collings/Eyre Methuen, cop. – 1972. – Expanded edition of Poems from Prison
Ogun Abibimañ. – London : Rex Collings, 1976
Mandela's Earth and Other Poems. – New York : Random House, cop. – 1988
Early Poems. – New York : Oxford University Press, 1997. – Content: Idanre & Other Poems ; A Shuttle in the Crypt
Samarkand and Other Markets I Have Known. – London : Methuen, 2002
The Interpreters. – London : Andre Deutsch, 1965
The Man Died : Prison Notes. – London : Rex Collings, 1972
Season of Anomy. – London : Rex Collings, 1973
Myth, Literature and the African World. – Cambridge : Cambridge Univ. Press, 1976
Aké : the Years of Childhood. – London : Collings, 1981
Art, Dialogue & Outrage : Essays on Literature and Culture. – Ibadan : New Horn Press, 1988
Ìsarà : a Voyage Around "Essay". – New York: Random House, 1989
Ibadan : the Penkelemes Years : a Memoir: 1946-1965. – London : Methuen, 1994
The Open Sore of a Continent : a Personal Narrative of the Nigerian Crisis. – New York : Oxford University Press, 1996
The Burden of Memory, the Muse of Forgiveness. – London : Oxford University Press, 1998
Salutation to the Gut. – Ibadan, Nigeria : Bookcraft Ltd, Pocket gifts, cop. – 2002
The Climate of Fear : the Reith Lectures 2004. – London : Profile, 2004
You Must Set Forth at Dawn : a Memoir. – Random House, 2006
Critical studies (a selection)
Critical perspectives on Wole Soyinka / ed. by James Gibbs. – London : Heinemann, 1981
Larsen, Stephan, A Writer and His Gods : a Study of the Importance of Yoruba Myths and Religious Ideas to the Writing of Wole Soyinka. – Stockholm : Stockholm Univ., 1983
Maduakor, Obi, Wole Soyinka : an Introduction to His Writing. – New York : Garland, 1986
Before Our Very Eyes : Tribute to Wole Soyinka, Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature / edited by Dapo Adelugba. – Ibadan : Spectrum Books, 1987
Research on Wole Soyinka / edited by James Gibbes & Bernth Lindfors. – Trenton : Africa World Press, 1993
Wright, Derek, Wole Soyinka Revisited. – New York : Twayne, cop. 1993
Wole Soyinka : an Appraisal / edited by Adewale Maja-Pearce. Oxford : Heinemann, 1994
Ojaide, Tanure, The Poetry of Wole Soyinka. – Lagos : Malthouse Press, 1994
Msiska, Mpalive-Hangson, Wole Soyinka. – Plymouth : Northcote House, 1998
Conversations with Wole Soyinka / edited by Biodun Jeyifo. – Jackson : University Press of Mississippi, 2001
Ebewo, Patrick, Barbs : a Study of Satire in the Plays of Wole Soyinka. – Kampala, Uganda : JANyeko Pub. Centre, 2002
Jeyifo, Biodun, Wole Soyinka : Politics, Poetics, Postcolonialism. – New York : Cambridge University Press, 2005

The Swedish Academy, 2006

To cite this page
MLA style: "Wole Soyinka - Bibliography". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 14 Mar 2018. <>


0 thoughts on “Metamorphosis Bibliography”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *